Posted by: arbeam | January 11, 2014

Congratulations to USS Jimmy Carter (SSN 23), USS Nebraska (SSBN 739) Blue and Gold crews and USS Ohio (SSGN 726) Blue crew on winning the 2013 Battle “E”!



battle_ePEARL HARBOR, Hawaii (NNS) — Commander Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet (COMSUBPAC) announced the recipients of the 2013 Battle Efficiency (Battle “E”) award in an official message to the submarine force Jan. 1.

 The Battle “E” is an award of merit presented to the most proficient submarine crew in each squadron and recognizes sustained superior technical performance and continual combat readiness throughout the year. The awards are presented by the commodore of each squadron to the submarine under their command which has demonstrated the highest level of battle readiness during the evaluation year.

 “The competition for Battle Efficiency awards was extremely tough,” said Rear Adm. Phillip Sawyer, Commander Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet, in the message to the force. “These awards recognize commands which were evaluated during the past year to have attained the highest overall or departmental readiness to carry out their wartime tasks. Each crew member of an award winner can be justifiably proud of their contribution to improve Pacific Submarine Force readiness. I am extremely proud of your outstanding performance.”

 The Pacific Northwest Battle “E” winners are:

  • SUBDEVRON 5 (Bangor, Wash.) – USS Jimmy Carter (SSN 23)
  • SUBRON 17 (Bangor) – USS Nebraska (SSBN 739) (Blue and Gold)
  • SUBRON 19 (Bangor) – USS Ohio (SSGN 726) (Blue)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: