Bremerton-Olympic Peninsula Council Navy League of the US

January 12 Luncheon Speaker: Captain John Ring, Commanding Officer USS Nimitz (CVN-68)


The Navy announced on Dec. 22, that the USS Nimitz (CVN 68) will remain stationed in Bremerton, Washington, through fiscal year 2019 as part of a decision that avoids the possibility of three homeport changes over a four-year period for the ship’s crew members and families.

Nimitz, the Navy’s oldest aircraft carrier in service, arrived at Bremerton’s Puget Sound Naval Shipyard and Intermediate Maintenance Facility last January for a 16-month extended planned incremental availability (EPIA).

Captain Ring is a native of San Diego, California and was commissioned via the Naval Reserve Officer Training Corps at the University of Arizona. Following flight training in Pensacola and Carrier Airborne Early Warning Squadron VAW-120, he was designated as a Naval Flight Officer in 1990.

Captain Ring’s initial sea duty assignment was with the VAW-123 Screwtops in USS AMERICA (CV-66). In 1996 Captain Ring was selected to become Air Defense Officer in USS CHANCELLORSVILLE (CG-62) and USS PORT ROYAL (CG-73) where he qualified in Surface Warfare. Additional sea duty assignments include the VAW-112 Golden Hawks in USS JOHN C. STENNIS (1999-2002) and Carrier Strike Force Training Pacific (CSFTP) (2007).

Captain Ring reported as Executive Officer of Carrier Airborne Early Warning Squadron VAW-113 in September 2004 and assumed command in November 2005. While in command, the Black Eagles flew in support of ground convoys in Iraq.

Captain Ring served as Executive Officer, USS NIMITZ (CVN-68) and from November 2011 until February 2013 he commanded USS COMSTOCK (LSD 45). Captain Ring assumed command of USS Nimitz (CVN 68) July 8, 2014.

Our social hour will begin at 11 am; opening will be at 11:45 followed by lunch. Location is the Bangor Conference Center, Trident Ballroom, NBK, Bangor.

Registration! Please call Evergreen Transfer & Storage at 360 674-2762 for your lunch registration.

Nomination of officers for 2016

The Council nominating committee proposes the following Slate of Officers for 2016. We will be voting during the Annual Business portion of our meeting.

President                       Tim Katona

First Vice President     Jerry Logan

Second Vice President Robert Lamb

Secretary                         Cynthia Martin

Treasurer                         Dave Ellingson

Judge Advocate             George Rose