Bremerton-Olympic Peninsula Council Navy League of the US

Jan 10: Annual Business Meeting


We will hold our Annual Business Meeting during our first luncheon of the year  scheduled to be held on jan 10, 2017 at the Trident Ballroom NBK Bangor at 11:30 AM. During that meeting we will report on our 2016 Activities and elect our Officers and Board for the year of 2017. The Nominating Committee lead by Neva Lamb has proposed the following slate of officers.

2017 Bremerton Officer Nomination List
President:                     Alan Beam
Vice President 1          Steve Westover
Vice President 2          Bob Lamb
Secretary:                     Larry Tellinghuesen
Treasurer:                    David Ellingson
JAG:                              Bob Battin

Location is the Bangor Conference Center, Trident Ballroom, NBK, Bangor.
Doors open at 11:00, Lunch begins at 11:30
Registration: Please call Evergreen Transfer & Storage at 360 674-2762 for your lunch registration.
  • Members without base access; processing time can take weeks.
  • Please give your name as it appears on your driver’s license.
  • Spell your name to make certain that it will be correct on the gate access sheet. Provide your date of birth and city of birth.
  • Members without enhanced WA Drivers License need to be on the base access list or be escorted.

Bremerton Bylaws

Section 1
This Council shall have the following elected Officers: President, one or more Vice Presidents, Treasurer, Secretary and Judge Advocate. Additional Vice Presidents may be elected for functional areas as required.

During the year, the President may propose to the Board any new Vice President required. After Board approval, a confirmation by membership vote at the next meeting will be required.

Section 2
The Board of Directors shall consist of the Officers, the immediate past President and a minimum of ten elected Directors. During the year, the President may propose to the Board any new Director required. After Board approval a confirmation by membership vote at the next meeting will be required.

Section 3
The Officers and Directors of this Council shall be elected for a term of one year or until their successors are elected. The President shall not be elected for more than two consecutive terms.
Section 4
Officers and Directors shall be elected by a majority of those members present and voting, by secret ballot unless there is but one candidate for an office, in which case election may be by voice vote. Elections will be held at the Annual Meeting. Installation of new Officers and Directors may follow the elections at the Annual Meeting, or be conducted at a subsequent meeting or event. The President shall have the authority to fill a vacancy, should one arise, subject to ratification by the Board of Directors at its next meeting.

Section 1
A Nominating Committee shall be established annually. It shall be comprised of the following:
a. a member appointed by the President,
b. two members selected by the Board of Directors, and
c. two members elected by a vote of the membership.

Notice of membership of this Committee shall be announced sixty days in advance of the annual meeting and a report of the Committee shall be made to the membership at least thirty days prior to the annual meeting. The Nominating Committee shall select at least one nominee for each office and nominations may be made from the floor at the election meeting. No member of the Nominating Committee shall be eligible for nomination to any elective office.

Article VIII – Meetings

The general membership of this Council shall meet at least once each quarter upon call by the President. Ten percent (10%) of the membership shall constitute a quorum. The Annual Meeting of Members shall be held during the last quarter of the fiscal year. At this meeting, the President, Treasurer and Secretary shall submit their annual reports to the members. (Copies of these reports must be sent to National Headquarters with copies to the appropriate State and Region Presidents.) Elections for Council Officers and Directors for the subsequent fiscal year also shall be held at this meeting. Written proxies shall be allowed at all membership meetings.