Posted by: arbeam | August 21, 2017

What my Dolphins mean me

Before a sailor is awarded his dolphins onboard BREMERTON, he writes a letter to the Commanding Officer about what his dolphins mean to him.  Before I make the final mark in their dolphin qual card, I sit down with each to discuss the letter they wrote.

I believe CDR Bringham instituted this final phase early in his command tour and it’s been around since. Some sailors spend days drafting these letters and some only minutes.  I wanted to share with you and, if you may, the BREMERTON Navy League one of these letters that I found particularly thoughtful from MM2 (SS) Moore who qualified earlier this week.

I asked him for permission to post his letter and he was happy for me to share it.

VR

Travis Zettel
CDR, USN
Commanding Officer
USS BREMERTON (SSN-698)

03 Aug 17

FROM: MM2/SU RYAN A. MOORE, USN

TO: COMMANDING OFFICER, USS BREMERTON (SSN698)
SUBJ: SUBMARINE WARFARE QUALIFICATION

SIR,

LIKE MANY BEFORE HIM, ANOTHER SAILOR HAS PROVEN WHAT IT MEANS TO BE A SUBMARINER. TO BE A SUBMARINER, ONE MUST ALWAYS BE ON THE ALERT, KEEPING HIS SHIP AND SHIPMATES SAFE. HE IS THE RAPID RESPONSE, THE FIRE PARTY, AND THE RE-FLASH WATCH. EVERY SUBMARINER MUST LEARN HIS JOB AND THAT OF HIS FELLOW SHIPMATES. IT IS VITAL THAT ONE TREATS THIS TRUST, BESTOWED ON HIM BY HIS PEERS AND THE IMMENSE RESPONSIBILITY INVOLVED, WITH THE UTMOST RESPECT, HUMILITY, AND DIGNITY.

NOW, THE SUBMARINE WARFARE PIN MAY REPRESENT THE PROFICIENCY OF A SAILOR IN DC AND SHIP COMPREHENSION, BUT IT WILL ALSO STAND TESTAMENT, TO ALL I SHALL MEET, THAT THIS SUBMARINER WAS FORGED FOR A PURPOSE. REMEMBERING WHERE WE COME FROM, I WILL DEDICATE MY TIME TO THE FUTURE OF THE NAVY, PASSING DOWN LESSONS LEARNED AND TUTORING NEW ARRIVALS. I WILL STRIVE TO REACH OUT AND HELP MY BROTHERS, SO THAT WE, AS A TEAM, CAN MAKE A BETTER NAVY AND A BETTER BREMERTON.

V/R
MM2/SU RYAN A. MOORE, USN

SaveSave

Responses

  1. Congratulations earning your Dolphins! Proud moment to now wear this and show your commitment to Submarine Service!

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this letter. Our last Bremerton family reunion demonstrated the love we have for each other and our families. I hope to meet many more of our Bremerton family in Vegas 2018. My wife and I pray for your safety and extend our appreciation for your sacrifice keeping us safe.
    Love you guys
    Steve Everett. MMCM(SS) USN Ret.
    8436076725
    132 Highland Ave Summerville SC 29486


Leave a Reply

Categories

